Facebook bug temporarily unblocked users

Adjust Comment Print

According to Facebook's statement on the matter, 83 percent of people affected by this bug had "only" one blocked person temporarily unblocked.

"The bug was active between 29 May and 5 June - and while someone who was unblocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience". Facebook, instead, allows these users to connect via Messenger, while a previously blocked person may also be able to spot public posts from the person. "A bug mistakenly deleted some of these associations across Facebook and Messenger, which caused blocks to be lost", Facebook explained. The Cambridge Analytica scandal, which unfolded in March, affected more than 8.7 crore users.

You can get additional information regarding blocking someone on Facebook here. Which is nevertheless cold comfort to the company's vast audience that sees in this yet another bug that could chip away at trust in the company, following a similar one a few weeks ago.

"We know that the ability to block someone is important, and we'd like to apologise", Egan said.

Iran vice president says private sector to buy, export oil
US President Donald Trump lashed out at OPEC with a warning to stop manipulating oil markets in an interview that aired on Sunday. Mr Hook said that the first part of U.S. sanctions against Iran will snap back on August 6. "We buy high sulfur crude from Iran".


The software bug did not restore any severed friend connections at the social network, but someone who was blocked could have been able to reach out to a blocker on Messenger, according to Facebook. Unblocked users have been blocked again.

"Their relationship may have changed or they may want to take a break from someone posting content they find annoying". "Other reasons are more serious like harassment or bullying".

Facebook confirmed that a bug has temporarily unblocked some users from the block lists of around 800,000 users. Also, the bug would have let these individuals re-add friends who had blocked them from their profile.

Comments