BJP rattled by by-poll results

Adjust Comment Print

Praveen Kumar Nishad of Samajwadi Party defeated BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla by 21,000 votes in Gorakhpur.

The setback comes as a huge shocker to the year-old BJP government in Uttar Pradesh, where Adityanath has represented Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha seat for five consecutive times. Maurya alleged that while BSP-SP announced support, even Congress, which had fielded its candidates gave indirect support to the SP candidate.

- BIG BREAKING: Samajwadi Party ahead by 24 votes after second round of counting.

RJD's convincing victories has set the stage for Tejashwi Yadav to play a pivotal role in state politics.

NDTV-news channel has reported that the BJP citadel of Gorakhpur has been demolished and in addition, it also lost the Phullpur seat.

Parents of Seth Rich sue Fox News over false story
Butowsky, for his part, claims that he didn't write the piece, and that including him in the lawsuit is "baseless and frivolous". A Fox News representative told NBC News that it did not intend to comment on the lawsuit since it was "pending litigation".

The BJP, which had won an absolute majority in the 2014 general elections with 282 seats, a first by a political party after 30 years, has lost seven seats in by-elections held so far in the last four years. On the other hand, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel of SP clinched the Phulpur seat drubbing the saffron party's Kaushalendra Singh Patel by 59,460 votes. Instead, she suggested it was a deal between the two parties, with the Samajwadi Party supporting her candidates in the Rajya Sabha while she would lend her support to its leaders for the bye-polls.

The beginning of the end had started, tweeted Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee today, soon after the reports of the Uttar Pradesh and Bihar bypoll results started coming in. "The results are an indication to what is in store for BJP in 2019", he said. The Congress's Kantilal Bhuria won the seat against Dileep Singh Bhuria's daughter Nirmala.

"We will then also make our strategy for winning the 2019 elections", he added. They would have hoped that the alliance between the BJP and their former bitter critic Nitish Kumar should have virtually guaranteed them an easy victory, coupled with the attack on Lalu Yadav. In Gorakhpur, BJP's Yogi Adityanath had defeated SP's Rajmati Nishad by 31,2783 votes.

The results, again, cement the political understanding that a joint opposition may be in a much better position to take on the might of the BJP in the 2019 general elections.

CPI MP D. Raja said the results will have an impact on all secular democratic forces, which should evolve a suitable electoral tactical line keeping the objective of defeating the BJP.