CRPF personnel killed in Naxal attack in Chhattisgarh's Sukma

Adjust Comment Print

The Naxals triggered a powerful landmine blast targetting an anti-landmine vehicle which was carrying about 11 personnel of the 212th battalion of CRPF camping at Pallodi, Special Director General (Naxal Operation) DM Awasthi said.

ASI RKS Tomar, constable Ajay Kumar Yadav, constable Manoranjan Lanka, constable Jitendra Singh, constable Shobhit Sharma, constable Manoj Singh, constable Dharmendra Singh, constable Chandra HS and head constable Lakshman lost their lives in the blast. Two other jawans were injured and are undergoing treatment in Raipur.

The security men were conducting an area-domination operation in the forest of Kistaram when the Maoists blew up the CRPFs mine-protected vehicle, he said. In Chhattisgarh, the left-wing extremists have the presence in 16 of the 27 districts.

Times Now further quoted local CRFF sources as saying that there could be a heavy number of people who have been injured in the attack.

According to officials, an encounter broke out between the jawans and the Maoists around 8 am.

China defends Duterte's commitment to 'fundamental rights' after United Nations criticism
Duterte has repeatedly lashed out at Callamard for her being biased against his anti-drug campaign. Like this story? Share it with a friend!

Six CRPF personnel were injured, out of which 4 are critical.

Bodies of those killed in the attack will be brought to Raipur for post mortem.

Even, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh said that the attack as "deeply distressing" and also bowed to the martyrs who lost their lives while "serving the nation".

Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh too strongly condemned the "cowardly and shameful" attack and said Naxals were afraid that development works will put an end to their activities.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi said the killings of CRPF soldiers was indicative of "deteriorating internal security situation due to flawed policies" of the Centre's Narendra Modi government.