Big Bash League Sees First Ever Obstructing the Field Dismissal

Adjust Comment Print

Alex Ross became the first to be dismissed for obstructing the field in BBL.

"Ross was left with no choice but to head back into the hut, however, he let his feelings known about the decision on social media later".

"Ryan Harris, CA High Performance coach, has been charged for breaching the CA Code of Conduct on 10 January 2018, in relation to a number of tweets he sent about the KFC Big Bash League match featuring Brisbane Heat and Hobart Hurricanes", a spokesman said.

For his part, Ross has explained that he was not intending to block the throw but to avoid being hit by the ball.

"I don't really care what the rules are, to me it is one of those grey areas like the Mankad", McCullum said.

"Of course, the umpire is always right and we congratulate the Hurricanes on their victory".

"Obstructing the field is one of the more hard decisions to interpret as it is based on umpires assessing the intent of the batsman". Eventually, Hobart went on to win the match by 3 wickets.

"It's time to move on".

" "Macquarie Reiterates "$895.00" Price Target for Amazon.com, Inc
The e-commerce giant reported $1.54 earnings per share for the quarter, topping the Zacks' consensus estimate of $1.35 by $0.19. Amazon.com accounts for 4.0% of TB Alternative Assets Ltd.'s investment portfolio, making the stock its 6th biggest position.


"But we need to understand clearly that mum, dad and the kids are interested in being entertained, not subjected to a forensic examination of the rule book".

Never before in top line Australian cricket has a batsman been given out "obstructing the field" but Cricket Australia conducted a full review into the incident and announced that umpires were right.

The 27-year-old brought up his ton - the first by any batsman in the Big Bash this season - from 63 balls with a six in the 19th over at the Gabba and then cleared the ropes three times in a row in the final over, the third of which saw him pass Wright's total.

Later, a Cricket Australia spokesperson was quoted as saying that they were satisfied with the call made by the umpire regarding this incident and the decision was "justified".

While running back for the second, Ross changed his trajectory on seeing the ball rushing towards him as he somehow managed to dive into the crease before the throw hit the stumps.

But, on Twitter on Thursday, Ross claimed he was only trying to avoid injury.

In an extraordinary attack, McCullum labelled Smith "immature" and said he would "live to regret" the appeal.

Comments