Peachtree Ridge's Heyward nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Adjust Comment Print

I have heard him tell players this is what we have to do, but I have to do it just as well as you have to do.

Robison, who started his first game of the season and the 103 of his career, has been selected as the Vikings nominee for the NFL's 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The Art Rooney Award was created in 2014 and is named after Art Rooney, the late founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers. A panel from the NFL Legends Community, made up of former NFL players, will select eight finalists, with four coming from each conference. He will also win a trophy that represents the critical role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how National Football League players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels. It is one of several awards presented during the annual NFL Honors gala on the night before the Super Bowl.

'Transracial' white Florida man says he identifies as Filipino
Your race can make you more marketable and in some cases eligible for certain benefits, jobs and scholarships. But, with someone making such drastic changes, Scheckner does think they should speak to a professional.

The victor of the award will be announced during the NFL Honors show on February 3, 2018 on NBC. From the list, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the victor.

Should Saffold be named the victor, he would receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Past recipients of the award are Frank Gore (2016), Charles Woodson (2015) and Larry Fitzgerald (2014).